PML-N top leaders can’t vote for ‘lion’ during Feb 8 polls

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : While the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) top leaders wooing voters to stamp on the party’s ‘lion’ electoral symbol to get rid of sky-high inflation among other issues, ironically they can’t cast their votes for their party’s candidate on the National Assembly seat in the tomorrow’s general elections.

According to The News, the party officials said the votes of Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif and Hamza Shehbaz are registered in NA-128 where the PML-N has a seat adjustment with the Istehkam-e-Pakistan (IPP).

They said that in NA-128, the PML-N had not fielded any candidate for the National Assembly seat and announced support for IPP leader Aun Chaudhry whose election symbol is “eagle”.

However, the three PML-N leaders will vote for party candidate Umar Sohail in PP-161.

According to the list, shared by senior party leader Ishaq Dar, revealed that the PML-N candidates will contest on 212 NA constituencies across the country on February 8 — leaving the field open on 51 NA seats for rivals or allies.

PML-N supremo Nawaz will contest polls in NA-15 (Mansehra) and NA-130 (Lahore) constituencies.

PML-N Chief Organiser Maryam Nawaz will contest the election from NA-119 and Hamza Shehbaz will contest from NA-118 Lahore.

On the other hand, PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif will participate in the election from NA-123 and NA-132.

The constituencies where the PML-N has not fielded its candidates are: NA-4 (Swat-III), NA-19 (Swabi-I), NA-20 (Swabi-II), NA-21 (Mardan-I), NA-22 (Mardan-III), NA-44 (Dera Ismail Khan-I), NA-45 (Dera Ismail Khan-II), NA-48 (Islamabad-III), NA-54 (Islamabad-III), NA-64 (Gujrat-III), NA-88 (Khushab-II), NA-92 (Bhakkar-II), NA-117 (Lahore-I), NA-128 (Lahore-XII), NA-143 (Sahiwal-III), NA-149 (Multan-II).

Moreover, the candidates are also not contesting on NA-165, NA-185, NA-190 to NA-204, NA-206 to NA-210, NA-212, NA-214, NA-215, NA-217, NA-218, NA-221, NA-223, NA-224, NA-228, NA-239, NA-245, NA-264 and NA-266.

The former ruling party, in its bid to strengthen its position in the province ahead of the upcoming elections, had entered a seat adjustment agreement with Jahangir Tareen’s IPP.