Political arenas where titans clash

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : The battle lines are drawn and it’s time now for the decision, as the final round of the election is just hours away after an intense election campaign.

More than 800 national and provincial assembly seats will be up for grabs in the general elections on Thursday (tomorrow).

For those seats, almost all the party heads and several political heavyweights are vying for political glory.

Let’s have a look at the battle grounds, where the party chiefs, former presidents, prime ministers, governors, and senior party leaders are contesting.

NA-130, Lahore: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Quaid and former prime minister Nawaz Sharif is contesting against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed Yasmin Rashid.

NA-10, Buner: PTI Chairman Barrister Gohar Khan is contesting against Jamaat-e-Islami’s (JI) Sher Akbar Khan.

NA-44, Dera Ismail Khan: Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rahman is engaged in a three-way fight, involving PTI-backed Ali Amin Gandapur and Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) former National Assembly deputy speaker Faisal Karim Kundi.

NA-127, Lahore: PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto faces PML-N’s Atta Tarar and PTI-backed Abbas Khokhar.

NA 6, Lower Dir: JI Ameer Sirajul Haq is competing against PTI-backed Bashir Khan.

NA-264, Quetta: Balochistan National Party-Mengal BNP-M chief Akhtar Mengal is contesting against PPP’s Mir Jamal Khan Raisani.

NA-266 Kila Abdullah-cum-Chaman: Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) chief Mahmood Khan Achakzai is contesting against JUI-F’s Maulana Salahuddin.

NA-248, Karachi: Muttanida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) Rabita Committee Convener Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui is contesting against PTI-backed Arsalan Khalid.

NA-24, Charsadda: Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) chief Aftab Sherpao faces PTI-backed Anwar Taj.

NA-149, Multan: Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) Patron Jahangir Tareen faces PTI-backed Aamir Dogar.

NA-253 Ziarat-cum-Harnai-cum-Sibbi-cum-Kohlu-cum-Dera Bugti: Jamhoori Watan Party (JWP) chief Shahzain Bugti is facing PML-N’s Mir Dostain Domki.


NA-33, Nowshera: PTI-Parliamentarian chief and former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister Pervez Khattak is facing PTI-backed Shah Wahid Ali Shah and independent candidate Akhtar Wali Khan.

NA-56, Rawalpindi: Awami Muslim League (AML) President Sheikh Rasheed is contesting against PML-N’s Hanif Abbasi

NA-207, Nawabshah: Former president Asif Zardari of the PPP is challenged by PTI-backed Sher Muhammad Baloch

NA-123, Lahore: Former prime minister Shahbaz Sharif of the PML-N is contesting against Liaquat Baloch of the JI and PTI-backed Afzal Azim.

NA-48, Multan: Former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani of the PPP is facing PML-N’s Ahmed Hasan Dehar

NA-119, Lahore: PML-N Chief Organiser Maryam Nawaz is contesting against PTI-backed Shahzad Farooq.

NA-118 Lahore: former Punjab chief minister Hamza Shehbaz is contesting against PTI-backed Alia Hamza

NA-117 Lahore: IPP President Abdul Aleem Khan is competing against PTI-backed Ali Ijaz Butar

NA-241, Karachi: MQM’s Dr Farooq Sattar is contesting against PTI-backed Khurram Sher Zaman

NA-71, Sialkot: PML-N’s Khawaja Asif faces PTI-backed Rehana Dar

NA-19 Swabi: Former National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser faces ANP’s Khanzada Shahnawaz

NA-54, Rawalpindi: Former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan is competing against Ghulam Sarwar Khan, the joint candidate of the IPP and the PML-N.

NA-122, Lahore: Former railways minister Saad Rafiq of the PML-N is standing against former governor and PTI-backed Sardar Latif Khosa.

NA-246 Karachi: Former minister Syed Aminul Haque of the MQM is contesting against JI Karachi Ameer Hafiz Naeemur Rehman.

NA-100, Faisalabad: Former interior minister Rana Sanaullah of the PML-N is contesting against PTI-backed Samira Nisar Jat.

NA-11, Shangla: PML-N’s Engineer Amir Maqam contesting against PTI-backed Dr Amjad

NA-18 Haripur: PTI secretary general Omar Ayub Khan faces Babar Nawaz Khan of the PML-N.