IPP Jahangir Tareen lost the battle in general elections

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : Jahangir Tareen, the Chairman of Istehkam e Pakistan Party (IPP), faced defeat in the general elections, failing to secure victory in both constituencies of the National Assembly.

Tareen contested from two National Assembly constituencies, NA-149 and NA-155 Lodhran-2, but was unable to clinch victory as per unofficial results.

The results from 369 polling stations in Lodhran revealed that PML-N candidate Sadiqque Khan Baloch emerged victorious in NA-155 with 117,671 votes, while Tareen garnered only 71,128 votes.

Similarly, Tareen suffered defeat in NA-149, securing 50,166 votes. The PTI-backed independent candidate, Malik Amir Dogar, triumphed in NA-149 with 143,613 votes.

Rizwan Hans, the PPP candidate, secured the third position in NA-149 with 14,625 votes, according to unofficial results.

Jahangir Tareen’s defeat in both constituencies marks a significant setback for his party and raises questions about his future political endeavors.