PPP clean sweeps Sindh

HYDERABAD: (PEN) :The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) clinched an unprecedented and absolute victory in five out of six administrative divisions in the interior Sindh, bagging 37 out of 39 National Assembly seats and 74 out of 83 Sindh Assembly seats.The PPP routed the opponents in 22 districts, taking 11 National Assembly and 24 Sindh Assembly seats in Hyderabad division, eight National Assembly and 16 Sindh Assembly seats in Larkana; 7 National Assembly and 11 provincial assembly seats in Sukkur; 6 National Assembly and 12 provincial assembly seats in Nawabshah; and 5 National Assembly and 11 provincial Assembly seats in Mirpurkhas division.

The party lost only two National Assembly seats, which were in Hyderabad. The party however, won one remaining seat from there. In the five divisions, the party lost 9 provincial assembly seats, compared to 14 losses in 2018 elections.

Four of the candidates who could succeed against the PPP were the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed independents, three belonged to Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and two to the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA).

The Mirpurkhas division, with 5 national and 11 provincial assembly seats turned up as the strongest electoral fortress for the party with no defeat. In the 25-seat Larkana division and 19-seat Nawabshah division, the PPP lost just one constituency each.

Out of 41 constituencies in Hyderabad division, the PPP’s candidates were trounced only on six seats, all in Hyderabad district – one of the nine districts in the division. Three seats were also lost in Sukkur division which consists of 21 constituencies.

The PPP also won on five National Assembly constituencies in Jacobabad, Shikarpur, Ghotki, Mirpurkhas and Badin districts, which were won by the PTI, GDA and one independent in the 2018 elections.

The party caused upsets for the GDA in Sanghar and Khairpur districts, which had been considered as strongholds of Pir Pagara Syed Sibghatullah Rashdi, who heads the alliance. The GDA managed to secure one seat each from the two districts against its five provincial assembly seats in 2018.

The big shock surfaced in Badin, where Dr Zulfiqar Mirza and Dr Fehmida Mirza, whose sons and supported candidates could not defend their previous victories. Besides the Arbabs of Tharparkar, the Jatois of Naushehroferoze, the Abbassis of Larkana and the Syeds of Mirpurkhas were also

The Jamaat-e-Ulema-Islam-Fazl also put up a strong fight in some constituencies in Jacobabad, Kashmore-Kandhkot, Shikarpur, Kambar-Shahdadkot and Sukkur. But, its candidates could not secure success.

However, despite such a massive inroad, the PPP did confront setbacks on at least in two provincial constituencies in Jacobabad and Ghotki districts. It lost its seat, PS-3 Jacobabad III, to PTI’s independent candidate Mumtaz Hussain Khan and PS-19 Ghotki II to independent candidate Nadir Akmal Laghari.