Australia bag U19 World Cup crown

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : Australia emerged triumphant in the 2024 U19 World Cup final against India, clinching a convincing 79-run victory in Benoni on Sunday.

Choosing to bat first, the Australians, led by Hugh Weibgen, set a formidable target of 254 runs on the scoreboard.

They concluded their innings at 253/7, establishing the highest-ever total in a U19 World Cup final. Harjas Singh spearheaded the charge with a solid 55, complemented by valuable contributions in the 40s from Weibgen, Harry Dixon, and Ollie Peak. Raj Limbani stood out for India, claiming figures of 3/38.

In reply, India encountered early setbacks, losing four wickets within the initial 20 overs, including key players Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan, and Sachin Dhas. Despite a late surge from Abhishek Murugan, who scored a spirited 42, Australia’s victory appeared inevitable, and they successfully sealed the game in the 44th over.


Australia’s bowlers, led by Mahli Beardman, played a pivotal role in dismantling India’s batting lineup. Beardman accounted for the dismissals of Musheer Khan and captain Uday Saharan, while Raf MacMillan took the wicket of Sachin Dhas.

In Australia’s innings, after a solid start by Harry Dixon, Naman Tiwari and Raj Limbani struck back for India, claiming crucial wickets. Tiwari dismissed Weibgen for 48, and Dixon fell victim to a well-executed slower ball. However, Harjas Singh and Ryan Hicks anchored Australia’s innings with a patient partnership.

Harjas Singh, despite having a modest tournament record, showcased his skills by reaching his maiden fifty in the U19 World Cup. Although Saumy Pandey dismissed Harjas, Ollie Peake’s positive intent ensured Australia surpassed the 200-run mark.

Australia added 66 runs in the last 10 overs, maintaining a healthy run rate.

Ultimately, Australia’s comprehensive performance in batting, bowling, and fielding secured their third ICC final victory over India, building on their successes in the World Test Championship in 2023 and the U19 World Cup in 2024.