Major setbacks in Elections 2024

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : As the Election of Pakistan (ECP) completed the announcement of Election 20224 results, several political setbacks were witnessed wherein senior politicians including former premier and former ministers lost their constituencies.

Former prime minister Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif lost his seat NA-15 (Mansehra) to independent candidate Shahzada Muhammad Gushtasap Khan, who won the seat with the leading votes of 24,867. The winning candidate got 105249 votes while the PMLN supremo got 80382 votes, as per the ECP. However, Nawaz Sharif has challenged the results in the court.

The former interior Minister and PML-N – Punjab president Rana Sanaullah lost his seat from his home town Faisalabad NA-100 to independent candidate Nisar Jutt who stood victorious with 19302 votes.

Another setback for PML-N, from Faisalabad NA-102 Abid Sher Ali lost a seat from Changez Khan Independent. PMLN senior politician Khawaja Saad Rafique lost the seat in Lahore fromNA-122 and independent candidate Latif Khosa won this seat. But Saad Rafique presented congratulations to Latif Khosa and showed the beauty of electoral politics.

Another setback from Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Vice-chairman Bilawal Bhutto lost their seat from Lahore NA-127 from PMLN Atta Ullah Tarrar with the lead of 83205 votes.

From Islamabad NA-47, Tariq Fazal Chaudhary secured a seat and Shoaib Shaheen lost the seat.

Another seat of Islamabad-48, Independent Khurram Shehzad won his seat from Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar.

The former interior minister and president of Awami Muslim League (AML) Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed from NA-56, lost their seat and PMLN Hanif Abbasi secured the seat.

From Gujrat NA-64, Pakistan Muslim League (Q) Chaudhary Salik Hussain secured a seat from former chief minister of Punjab Pervaiz Ellahi, who is in prison, and his wife Qaisra Ellahi through an independent representative contested the election but also lost the seats.

Another senior politician Jahangir Tareen and President of Istekham-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), lost from both constituency from Lodhran NA-155, and Multan NA-149.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F), chief Maulana Fazal Ur Rehman, lost from his hometown NA-44, from Ali Amin Gandapur with the leading votes of 31,763.

Another huge setback was witnessed by the Jamiat-e-Islami (JI) Chief Siraj-Ul-Haq from his home town NA-6, who lost his seat to independent Bashir Khan who won the seat by votes 11,888.

From Balochistan, the party chief of Balochistan National Party (BNP), party chief Akhtar Jan Mengal lost their seat to the Young Politician from Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Jamal Khan Raisani from NA-264 Quetta.

The founder of Pakhtunkhwa Mili Awami Party (PKMAP) Mehmood Khan Achakzai from NA-266 lost the seat and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUIF) candidate Salah Uddin with the lead of 3,000 votes.