LHC rejects PTI’s petitions challenging election results in 18 constituencies

ISLAMABAD (PEN) : The Lahore High Court (LHC) has dismissed petitions filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) seeking to overturn the election results in 18 constituencies from the February 8th general elections. This includes challenges to the victories of prominent figures like Maryam Nawaz and Abdul Aleem Khan.

Several petitions challenging the results of the general elections held on February 8 were filed, primarily supported by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and its leaders. Shahzad Farooq, supported by the PTI, had contested Maryam Nawaz’s victory in NA-119. Alia Hamza, an independent candidate with PTI’s backing, had challenged Hamza Shehbaz’s election results in NA-118. Ali Ejaz Butar, representing PTI, had filed an application against the victory of Abdul Aleem Khan in NA-117.

Zaheer Abbas Khokhar has raised objections to the election outcomes of PML-N candidate Atta Tarar in NA-127. Rehana Dar, backed by PTI, has submitted a petition challenging the election results of Khawaja Asif in NA-72.

Furthermore, PTI leaders, including Malik Shakir Bashir Awan (NA-87), Irfan Shafi Khokhar (PP-167), Malik Khalid Khokhar (PP-169), Faisal Ikram (PP-46), Chaudhry Mohammad Mansha (PP-47), Rana Abdul Sattar (PP-53), and others, have contested the results in various constituencies, including PP-170.

Led by PTI-backed candidate Salman Akram Raja, the party had submitted petitions contesting the results in various constituencies across Punjab. However, the court, presided over by Justice Ali Baqir Najafi, deemed the petitions inadmissible and directed the petitioners to approach the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) instead.

Among the challenges dismissed were those targeting the victories of Maryam Nawaz from NA-119, Abdul Aleem Khan from NA-117, Malik Saiful Malook Khokhar from NA-126, Attaullah Tarar from NA-127, Aun Chaudhry from NA-128, Khawaja Asif froom NA-117,

Additional contested constituencies included NA-80, represented by Shahid Usman, NA-87, represented by Malik Shakir Bashir Awan, and various provincial assembly seats. Other constituencies challenged include PP-167, PP-169, PP-46, PP-47, PP-53, and PP-170.

Justice Ali Baqir Najafi issued an 11-page written decision addressing the petitions of Salman Akram Raja, Ali Ijaz Buttar, and others. The court determined that the constitutional petition filed by the petitioners was not admissible, directing them to refer to the ECP under Section 8 and 9 of the Election Act, 2017.

Furthermore, the written decision emphasized the Commission’s responsibility to ensure the presence of candidates during the result preparation process and to adjudicate on the applications in accordance with Article 218 of the Constitution.

The decision also noted the unconditional apology from the returning officer for their absence during court proceedings.

This ruling by the Lahore High Court marks a significant development in the post-election landscape, underscoring the legal processes involved in addressing electoral disputes and upholding the integrity of the electoral system.