ECP issues list of delimitation of constituencies for NA and Provincial Assemblies

ISLAMABAD  – All legal hurdles to hold early general elections in the country have been removed and the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday issued new and final list of delimitation of constituencies for the National Assembly (NA) and four Provincial Assemblies, Dunya News reported.

The ECP has issued the notification of the list delimitation of 266 constituencies of the National Assembly and 593 constituencies of the provincial assemblies for the general elections.

According to the notification, the total number of seats in the National Assembly has been reduced from 342 to 336. Similarly, the number of general seats in the National Assembly has fallen from 272 to 266.

Punjab will have 141 general seats in the NA, Sindh 61, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 45, Balochistan 16 and three will be from Islamabad. Women will have 60 reserved seats while minorities will have 10 seats.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa s NA constituencies will begin with Chitral s from NA-1 to end at NA-45. Seats from Islamabad will be from NA-46 to NA-48. Punjab s constituencies will start from Attock s NA-49 and end at NA-189 in Rajanpur, while those of Sindh will start from NA-190 Jacobabad and continue till NA-250 Karachi and Balochistan s constituencies will be from NA-251 to NA-266.

As for provincial assemblies, the commission said Punjab would have 371 seats of which 297 will be general seats. Sindh would have 168 seats of which 130 will be general seats.

The Balochistan Assembly will have 65 seats of which 51 will be general seats. The K-P Assembly will have 145 seats of which 115 will be general seats.